DVD/Blu-ray News #6: Sands Of Iwo Jima (1949).

Sands-Of-Iwo-Jima-1

Directed by Allan Dwan
Starring John Wayne, John Agar, Adele Mara, Forrest Tucker, Wally Cassell, James Brown, Richard Webb, Arthur Franz

With Allan Dwan’s Sands Of Iwo Jima (1949), Republic got out of the B picture business. They spent over a million bucks on this one, an excellent story of the training and combat experiences of guys who’d fight at Iwo Jima. For their million, they got a little recognition: it was nominated for several Oscars, including one for Wayne.

It’s coming on DVD and Blu-ray from Olive Films.

Sands BTS FT JW AD (1)

L-R: Forrest Tucker, John Wayne, Allan Dwan, unidentified and Major General Graves Erskine.

4 Comments

Filed under Allan Dwan, DVD/Blu-ray News, John Wayne, Olive Films

4 responses to “DVD/Blu-ray News #6: Sands Of Iwo Jima (1949).

  1. Richard Oravitz

    My SANDS OF IWO JIMA viewing experience…I remember the first time that I saw this film.
    Back in 1960 the Youngstown, Ohio YMCA was running some sort of summer special where a member could bring a friend free on Saturday mornings for a month in hope that that friend would join. As my dad couldn’t afford such extravagances, I was the free friend and my association with the YMCA lasted one month, or four Saturdays.
    After all the exercising, swimming and such stuff ended my favorite part then began. Movies, cartoons, serials and such were shown via projector in a large gathering/meeting room. It was here that I saw for the first time THEM, THE AMAZING TRANSPARENT MAN, and SANDS OF IWO JIMA.
    I didn’t even know who John Wayne was at the time, or was just putting it all together. I do remember that after the movie a group of us tried to carry our gym bags across our backs as we charged down the hallway hitting the imaginary beach head on our way to the lunch room for the standard hot dog and fries.
    Growing up as a 9 year old in 1960 was great.

    Like

  2. The Sands of Iwo Jima was one of the first movies I can remember going to see. I was probably seven years old. My mom and dad took me. I got so involved in the story that when Stryker was killed in the end I literally started bawling my head off because I thought John Wayne had really been killed. My parents told me it was just a movie and The Duke was alive and probably making another movie. But I could not understand that. I saw him die and when the lights when up I sat there crying my head off. Luckily in those days you could stay to see the movie over again. So my folks sat until the lights went back down and the movie started over. When John Wayne appeared again alive and well I finally stopped crying and got happy again. Hey, give me a break. I was seven. But we as adults really can’t appreciate the impact movies have on kids at an impressionable age. I could tell you about going to see Bambi but you’d have to get me really drunk first.

    Like

    • That’s a great story, John. Even as an adult, it’s hard to watch John Wayne die.

      Your parents were pretty smart to let the movie cycle back around so you could see Wayne alive again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

