Blu-Ray News #12: Convoy (1978).

vlc 2012-10-31 21-15-12-31

Directed by Sam Peckinpah
Starring Kris Kristofferson, Ali McGraw, Ernest Borgnine, Burt Young and Franklyn Ajaye

OK, so it’s really not all that good. But I’m so glad Kino Lorber is bringing Sam Peckinpah’s Convoy (1978) to Blu-ray. (That’s him with the headphones staring at Kristofferson.)

It’s got a great cast, some incredible New Mexico scenery and as you’d expect, Sam’s as good with crashing cars and trucks as with people getting shot. This was his next-to-last film (coming between 1977’s Cross Of Iron and 1983’s The Osterman Weekend), and his addictions and excesses were getting the best of him. His friend James Coburn was brought in as second unit director. Some say Coburn shot a great deal of what we see on the screen, as the picture went way over budget and behind schedule.

1 Comment

Filed under 1978, DVD/Blu-ray News, James Coburn, Kino Lorber, Kris Kristofferson, Sam Peckinpah

One response to “Blu-Ray News #12: Convoy (1978).

  1. Richard Oravitz

    This is good news indeed as I’ve always been a fan of Sam Peckinpah’s “lesser” films of the 70s, BRING ME THE HEAD OF ALFREDO GARCIA, THE KILLER ELITE and CONVOY, all soundly trashed by critics of the day. Perhaps I’ve always wanted them to be better in my own mind’s eye because of my love for RIDE THE HIGH COUNTRY, MAJOR DUNDEE and especially THE WILD BUNCH.
    Years (decades) later, in retrospect, I still like these three films an awful lot, and one, …GARCIA has gone onto cult status!
    CONVOY, for me is a special favorite even though I’ve always liked ALFREDO GARCIA and the pithy KILLER ELITE much better.
    At that time and for 38 total years I worked in a distribution warehouse, unloading trucks, receiving and stocking merchandise. I met and knew many stereotypes of the characters presented in CONVOY, odd-ball truckers that defied any given norm, a true breed of their own.
    SMOKEY AND THE BANDIT, CONVOY and “road” movies in general were tops on my viewing list. The television series MOVIN’ ON was much viewed and discussed within the daily grind of two-wheeling cast iron tubs onto pallets to be stocked on racking tiers.
    The upcoming release of CONVOY from KINO makes my heart leap with joy. My buddy from work, Mike (I’ve been retired 4yrs. now) just dropped over with a copy of the MOVIN’ ON TV pilot, IN TANDEM which I’ve just now watched and loved every minute of. So I’m really primed for this KINO CONVOY release.
    Kris Kristofferson, Ali MacGraw, Burt Young, and even Ernest Borgnine borrowing Warren Oates’ name from THE WILD BUNCH!
    Fun Stuff, I’m happy.
    …And I do believe that CONVOY was Peckinpah’s biggest money making film ever…….sad, considering……

    Like

Leave a Reply

