Blu-Ray News #105: The Creeping Flesh (1973).

creepign-flesh-lc

Directed by Freddie Francis
Starring Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing, Lorna Heilbron, Michael Ripper

Mill Creek Entertainment has announced a three-picture Blu-Ray set for April called Psycho Circus. It consists of three features: Torture Garden (1967), The Creeping Flesh (1973) and Brotherhood Of Satan (1971).

For me, The Creeping Flesh is the cream of the crop. It’s a Tigon picture with Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, directed by Freddie Francis. What’s not to like? A scientist comes back from Papua New Guinea with some bones. They get wet and flesh forms around them again — with slimy, murderous results.

Torture Garden (1967) is an Amicus anthology film from Freddie Francis again. It stars Jack Palance, Burgess Meredith and Peter Cushing, based on stories by Robert Bloch.  Then there’s Brotherhood Of Satan which I’ve never seen, but am eager to see — it stars Strother Martin and L.Q. Jones, just a couple years after they played Coffer and T.C. in Peckinpah’s The Wild Bunch (1969). The recent Mill Creek Hammer Blu-Ray twin bills were terrific, so I’m really looking forward to this set.

2 Comments

Filed under 1967, 1971, 1973, Christopher Lee, DVD/Blu-ray News, Freddie Francis, Mill Creek, Peter Cushing, Sam Peckinpah

2 responses to “Blu-Ray News #105: The Creeping Flesh (1973).

  1. Richard Oravitz

    BROTHERHOOD OF SATAN is a personal favorite of mine. I attended it’s World Premier at a plaza theater in Boardman, Ohio. L.Q. Jones appeared on a local talk radio program the night before promoting the film. I was very familiar with L.Q. Jones at this time due to his many appearances on TV shows and films. Warren Oates, R.G. Armstrong, Strother Martin, Ben Johnson and L.Q., usually playing outlaws, were my “heroes” from THE VIRGINIAN, GUNSMOKE, THE BIG VALLEY and countless others. Always seeing one of them in the cast listing was guarantee of a good show. So when a friend of mine and I called the radio station talk show that night I remember L.Q. being somewhat surprised that someone actually knew a lot about his career. He invited my friend and I to meet him at the downtown Youngstown Voyager motor lodge (where he was staying) the next day. We arrived a little before noon as L.Q. was just going to have lunch. He invited us along so we could talk a little. When we were seated in the Voyager dining room L.Q. told us to have whatever we wanted as it was on him. I can’t remember what I ordered but I do remember feeling relieved due to my limited funds. Alvy (GREEN ACRES) Moore was also there but had to go somewhere instead. I remember Anton LaVey, the founder of The Church of Satan, also lurking about, but I think he was in town promoting Satanism rather than the movie. Actress Judy McConnell also joined us for lunch. She was extremely pleasant and easy to talk to and gave me an autographed photo. L.Q. autographed my copy of Brain Fox’s THE WILD BUNCH movie adaptation novel that I had brought along. It was a neat afternoon chatting about movies in general and Sam Peckinpah in particular. L.Q. commented on the honor of working alongside Randolph Scott and Joel McCrea, said Warren Oates was “good people”, and went on about how Peckinpah was a stickler for detail, citing a scene in MAJOR DUNDEE when Sam demanded all the Confederate soldiers be properly uniformed for a group shot that took place at night when only those in the first several rows would most likely be seen. L.Q. also talked about the filming of the Bloody Porch sequence at the end of THE WILD BUNCH. For this L.Q. actually moved about salt shakers, ashtrays and what-not to describe set-ups and action. L.Q. also mentioned how much he enjoyed being in THE BALLAD OF CABLE HOGUE and working alongside his friend Strother Martin.
    That evening my pal and I went to the BROTHERHOOD OF SATAN premier. As we watched the film I remember glancing back toward the exit door where L.Q. was standing, gauging the reaction of the audience. Of course, I really liked this movie because it was just the kind of thing I always go for, a low budget gem that’s both entertaining and fun to watch. I remember standing alongside L.Q. in the lobby after the movie was over. He was asking the patrons how they liked the movie as they exited. One guy replied, “It sucked.” I guess you can’t please everyone. BROTHERHOOD OF SATAN also played one of the local drive-in theaters at the same time. I don’t remember any Satan Seeds being passed out to ticket holders at the time, but that’s a promo item I would have liked to have had for a treasured memory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

