Blu-Ray News #139: The Green Slime (1968).

Directed by Kinji Fukasaku
Starring Robert Horton, Richard Jaeckel, Luciana Paluzzi

With Kubrick’s 2001: a space odyssey (1968), MGM took science fiction, and filmmaking in general, a huge leap forward. With The Green Slime, later that same year, they took it backwards just as far. The result, a wonderfully cheesy Japanese/US co-production, is coming to Blu-Ray from our intergalactic friends at Warner Archive later this year.

Some astronauts visit an asteroid (and destroy it), and one of them comes back with some kinda green goo on his spacesuit. The goo soon transforms into nasty-looking green monsters with tentacles.

Filmed in Japan by a Japanese crew, with an American cast (and script), it’s slightly related to a series of sci-fi pictures from Italian director Antonio Margheriti (Wild, Wild PlanetWar Of The PlanetsWar Between The Planets; and Snow Devils, all from 1965).

Green Slime 45.jpg

If you have one of these, please consider leaving it to me in your will.

The title tune is terrific. And if all that doesn’t promise an hour-and-a-half of cheesy goodness, note that it features Luciana Paluzzi, an actress with one of the greatest 60s and 70s filmographies of them all: Bonanza, Muscle Beach Party (1964), Thunderball (1965), Hawaii Five-O and more.

The Green Slime announced for Blu-Ray — this is a red-letter day.

23 Comments

Filed under 1968, Antonio Margheriti, DVD/Blu-ray News, MGM, Warner Archive

23 responses to “Blu-Ray News #139: The Green Slime (1968).

  1. Richard Oravitz

    Very, very colorful 1968 sci-fi eye candy with memorable funky, psychedelic theme song. No 2001, but I ain’t complaining. Lots of fun, mostly unintentional, but that’s what makes this one so enjoyable. Should look great in Blu-Ray.

    Like

    • Amen. I’m really stoked about this one — and I wish they’d follow it up with Wild Wild Planet (1965).

      Like

      • Richard Oravitz

        Toby,….What I’d really like to see are Margheriti’s two early space operas, ASSIGNMENT OUTER SPACE (1960) w/ Rik Van Nutter (Felix Leiter in THUNDERBALL) and BATTLE OF THE WORLDS (1961) w/ Claude Rains in beautifully restored widescreen prints. Both have only been available (as far as I know) in lousy, color faded, choppy full screen public domain versions. Seeing these two films properly restored would be a revelation for fans of this kind of stuff. Maybe good source material no longer exists, I don’t know. But these two are my wishful follow ups…yeah, keep dreaming.

        Like

      • Those would be great — I’ve only seen them looking lousy. 60s Italian sci-fi is a crazy thing.

        Like

  2. Richard Oravitz

    60s Italian anything, sci-fi, horror, sword & sandal, WW2, spy flicks, Westerns, is crazy thing. Masters of genre copying and exploitation, the Italian popular cinema was unbeatable circa 1955-75, at least for me.

    Like

    • Mike Richards

      Well done Richard, a good comment, they were never going to be award winners, just very entertaining films. Don’t forget also the Italian violent “poliziotteschi” films, that were influenced by USA titles such as Dirty Harry, The French Connection, Death Wish etc.

      Like

  3. john k

    Jeepers! Six (count ’em) replies…things are looking up in H8 Land.

    I note Anolis,Germany are soon to release BATTLE IN OUTER SPACE
    on Blu Ray-the DVD looked stellar so the Blu should be sensational.
    There would seem to be alternate versions in Anolis’ package.
    Their transfers are second to none.
    Anolis seem to have an on-going deal with Sony-I’d love to see more
    films like CREATURE WITH THE ATOM BRAIN on Blu as well as lots
    more Toho’s.

    Richard,as you seem to be the go to guy on all things Spaghetti I wonder
    if you could give me some sort of low down on Bava’a ROY COLT &
    WINCHESTER JACK….Kino say it’s coming on Blu in October.

    Like

    • You’re right, John. This blog’s numbers are certainly on the rise. Still nowhere near the traffic 50s Westerns gets, but climbing steadily.

      Like

    • Richard Oravitz

      john k…It’s been some time since I’ve seen ROY COLT & WINCHESTER JACK (VHS, bad source) and since I now have it on DVD in a Bava box set I should give it another try. I found it somewhat drab, a little boring, not up to what I was expecting from Bava, no real visual flare. It didn’t even seem like a Bava film… On the other hand, I can’t recommend Margheriti’s AND GOD SAID TO CAIN enough! It’s got all Margheriti’s visual touches and style, playing like a gothic Western, looking like a horror film, and with Klaus Kinski as the hero!!! Most of the film takes place during one night, amid a lengthy dust storm. Kinski, secret passages and tunnels, high body count, ghostly atmosphere, vivid Technicolor and a blazing finale…who could ask for more?

      Like

      • Richard Oravitz

        Oh yeah…forgot to mention that an excellent widescreen version of AND GOD SAID TO CAIN from Wild East can be had on Amazon for about 20 bucks. A second Kinski Western, TWICE A JUDUS is also included as Klaus reverts back to his usual nasty self.

        Like

      • Richard, I’m right there with ya on Roy Colt — there’s really nothing to tip you off that it’s a Bava picture. And that’s something you can’t say about anything else he’s done.

        And God Said To Cain is indeed a good one. I’d love to see a nice copy of it.

        Like

  4. Richard Oravitz

    Guess what…Put GREEN SLIME on only because I felt like listening to that super cool theme song and just ended up watching the whole movie again!

    Like

    • Isn’t that a pretty good definition of what makes a Good Movie? And if that’s a decent criteria, The Green Slime is a helluva lot better than, say, The English Patient.

      Like

  5. john k

    Uh oh!!! GOOD TASTE ALERT….I’m afraid the H8 is going through
    one of it’s up-market phases again…. 🙂

    Like

  6. john k

    Kubrick & Spielberg………………………………..0
    Kinji Fukasaku……………………………………….16

    Like

    • While the strict focus of 50s Westerns is something I’m very protective of (maybe too protective), the random catch-all-ness of H8 is something I really dig — even if that lack of focus helps explain the lower numbers. Oh well.

      Like

  7. john k

    I dunno,FWOTF has always seemed to be a pretty broad church,
    to me.If I could add one minor point and it’s better I say it here rather
    than there,it’s that I wish more copy was devoted to the great stuff
    appearing in Europe right now. I guess (and I do totally get it)
    it’s because you do not like the idea of loyal readers buying Euro
    discs with “forced” subs or in regions that they cannot play.
    Sadly the “multi region” player is now a fact of life-I resisted as long
    as possible but the fact I couldn’t play Criterion,Olive and in particular
    Kino Lorber Blu Ray’s meant that I finally had to give in-it works both
    ways-some FWOTF will never embrace the Blu Ray format but as far
    as I can gather many not only have; but are regular buyers of Euro
    discs,in some cases “Forced” subs and all.
    One thing I’d love to know is how sales are on Kino’s traditional Westerns,
    films like ROBBERS ROOST and CANADIAN PACIFIC as opposed to
    the virtual avalanche of Spaghetti Westerns they are releasing.
    I cannot speak for USA buyers but many UK Western fans that I know
    are reluctant to actually purchase anything-they would rather stay
    with their old “off air” copies-which does not bode well for future releases.
    When all is said and done I’d much rather Kino release old UA titles
    like WAR PAINT,FORT YUMA,SOUTHWEST PASSAGE,QUINCANNON
    FRONTIER SCOUT or REBEL IN TOWN as opposed to Sabata and friends
    That’s why,when all is said and done,it’s great that high-def versions
    of American programmer Westerns are very much alive in Germany and
    France..

    Like

    • Europe is definitely leaving the US in the dust as far as getting these movies into people’s hands. I plug those releases from time to time, but I try to stay away from things I’m not all that sure of — I don’t want to cost someone money by encouraging them to buy something that turns out to be a bust. I don’t hesitate with some companies, of course.

      I hope Mill Creek steps up its game here in that States — their sets are a great deal and the potential for great stuff is certainly there, in all sorts of genres and in both DVD and Blu-Ray.

      Like

  8. john k

    It’s encouraging that Gary at DVD Beaver are reviewing more and
    more Euro releases and he kindly states the region codes on his reviews.
    He,quiet rightly refuses to feature Sidonis discs because of their
    horrendous “forced” subtitles-no-one knows why they continue to
    do this. It is really going to hurt when,as I’m sure they will,release
    Phil Karlson’s THE TEXAS RANGERS,in fact they have just announced
    Karlson’s THEY RODE WEST as a future release.
    I live in hope that Kino Lorber can negotiate some sort of deal with
    Sony/Columbia especially with the huge amount of films they release.
    I can vouch for the quality of Euro imprints like Koch,Explosive and
    Elephant and look forward to the Westerns announced by the new
    French imprint Movinside. There does not seem to be any no budget
    Fifties Horror/Sci-Fi title that will not make it to Blu Ray and in fact
    Scream Factory’s announced ATTACK OF THE PUPPET PEOPLE is
    going to be hard to resist-especially with the way these things look in
    high-def.
    I’m looking forward to seeing what Movinside’s FORT COURAGEOUS
    looks like on Blu Ray an ultra low budget late entry (1965) into the
    black & white programmer Western cycle.Interestingly this will be the
    first Lesley Selander Western to make it to Blu Ray; especially
    considering how many he made.
    I always try to bring superior Euro releases to FWOTF readers after
    I have viewed them myself-there are a few regulars who support Euro
    releases-one or two of them even put up with Sidonis’ forced subs
    because sadly that is the only way they are going to get to see certain films
    in decent quality.

    Like

    • I appreciate you giving those things a mention — and vouching for their quality (when it’s there).

      It’s often startling how great the really cheap movies look in hi-def. I’m looking forward to sitting down with Arrow’s Terror In A Texas Town. Man From Planet X was gorgeous, and the work copy I got of The Man Who Died Twice was a thing or beauty. Black and white really takes on a lot of depth in 1080. I really love the texture you find in these things — in costumes, fake stone of cheesy rubber monsters.

      Like

  9. john k

    I’m really looking forward to THE MAN WHO DIED TWICE-is this the
    first Blu Ray presentation of a black & white Naturama film?

    I’ve discovered a great French DVD/Blu Ray website http://www.dvdclassik.com
    lots of reviews with tons of screengrabs and what’s really cool is that they
    (in most cases) state if the discs have “forced” subs or not.
    I totally agree how great high-def black & white looks when it’s done right;
    it totally raises the game of these little epics and demonstrates how
    important great cinematography was in these things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

